Volunteers needed for OKC food event

Posted: March 23, 2011 in How We Help, News, Volunteerism

The Salvation Army Central Oklahoma Area Command is partnering with Feed the Children to distribute Avon, hygiene and food boxes from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Wednesday, April 13 at 1001 N. Penn to approximately 1,200 people.

Volunteers are desperately needed to help provide these special supplements to families. The Salvation Army will assist in distributing the boxes, and the Canteen will be on site to provide water and lunch to all volunteers.

The Salvation Army is needing 50 volunteers to help with this event. To volunteer, please contact Lois Green at 405-246-1101 or lois_green@uss.salvationarmy.org.

Comments
  1. Jake Whalen says:

    I want to help with relief efforts for the japan quake and tsnunami. I live in California and am able to help at food drives or help in any way possible in my local area while attending hazmat and red cross classes. I have all my time to devote to this and would realy like to go to japan soon to help with relief over there. So, I’m taking the proper classes to get the certifcation I need to go help instead of be part of the problem. I am already trained life guard, and was in the national guard, so I understand the need for order in a situation as truamatic as this. If you have any info, or can point me in the right dirrection I would be very greatfull. I know you must be very busy, and want to thank you for your time, I have a calling to help others, and this is my time, hope to hear from you soon. Thank you again, Jacob Whalen.

    • Hi Jacob, I would suggest you contact your local Salvation Army in California. Most of the time, we have an international disaster relief team whose job it is to respond to large scale disasters like this. They may be able to point you in the right direction on how to get involved.
      Japan also has a large Salvation Army presence, and local Japanese Salvation Army personnel and volunteers are heavily involved in recovery efforts. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

