The Salvation Army Supports Tornado Relief Efforts in Joplin, Missouri Mass Feeding Efforts Continue in Hard-Hit Reading, Kansas

Posted: May 23, 2011 in Disaster Relief, How We Help, News, Uncategorized, Volunteerism

The Salvation Army is supporting relief efforts in Joplin, Missouri, which was hit by a deadly tornado Sunday.

A Salvation Army emergency disaster services team based out Pittsburg, Kansas has been deployed to Joplin to help carry out mass feeding for residents and first responders through a mobile feeding kitchen capable of serving thousands of meals a day.

Teams from Kirksville and Springfield, Missouri are also en route. Meanwhile, in hard-hit Reading, Kansas, which was nearly demolished by a tornado late Saturday night, two Salvation Army mobile feeding kitchens, one stationary and one roaming, served meals, snacks and cold drinks to more than 250 people today.

The canteens will be back in operation tomorrow and will likely continue service through the rest of the week in Reading.

Tomorrow, more than a dozen members of a Kansas motorcycle club are volunteering for The Salvation Army to help with clean-up efforts in Reading. The motorcycle club will be working from about 4:30 pm until 8 pm.

Financial donations to The Salvation Army disaster relief efforts may be made by texting the word ARMY to 90999 for an automatic $10 donation.

To make a credit card donation, call 1-800-SAL-ARMY or go to http://www.salvationarmy.us. Checks may be mailed to The Salvation Army, 3637 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64111.

Comments
  1. MSantos says:

    I’m located about an hour away from Reading. Where would someone go for information on helping?

  2. […] and handmade communities Bigger Picture Blogs will be hosting an auction to raise funds for the Salvation Army to aid in relief efforts in Joplin. Details will be posted later today or tomorrow. In the […]

  3. […] expressed in a big way. Bigger Picture Blogs will be hosting an auction to raise funds for the Salvation Army to aid in relief efforts in Joplin. Details will be posted very soon! However  you can help […]

  4. Don Conner says:

    I’m on vaction from May 30th through June 3rd and I would like to help. I live in Louisville, Ky. and could drive there. I know how to handle a chain saw that I can supply but am willing to help in ANY WAY thatyou need me.

  5. Don Conner says:

    Im on vacation from May30th till June 4th and willing to travel there from where I live in Louisville, Ky. to help in anyway that I’m capable. I know how to handle a chainsaw and will bring mine, but I can and am willing to do what I can. But (sorry ) I’ve got to get back to Louisville by the 4th of June. I SO wish that I could stay longer.

  6. Judi & Dean Waller says:

    Interesting in helping with clean-up & repair in Joplin. We are in Il. near St. Louis. Please advice if we can help & where.

  7. Lauren M says:

    hi I am lauren here is some money we heard about your tornado and we earned some money from our lemonade stand hope this helps lauren
    Grace:here is some money I really feel bad
    Lindsey: hope you fix Joplin

    WE WORKED REALLY HARD we worked from Saturday and Sunday
    FOR 2 HOURS EACH DAY!

  8. Hi there very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also?I’m glad to search out a lot of helpful information here within the put up, we’d like work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a comment